Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Reaching the Top of the Bridge and Remembering 21 Years Ago

Reflecting on a Recovery Both Personal and National

I had Quadruple bypass surgery on 8-8 and have been doing rehab since I got out of the hospital. I was very lucky that I was in great shape before the surgery and also heard many, many times that I was lucky to be alive with the amount of blockage I had in my coronary arteries. 

My rehab goal that I wanted to reach before my birthday on 10-2 was to reach the top of the bridge that connects the mainland with the island were we live. It is a 6.7 mile round trip from my house.

After watching the news and reliving the events from 21 years ago I thought today would be an appropriate day to go to the top in honor of those we lost and those who gave everything after that day of infamy. 

I passed a man jogging with an American flag. He was obviously a veteran and he acknowledged my salute as a gesture from another veteran.

I pushed myself in the early morning Florida heat with my mission and reached the top of the bridge. I fought back tears while I took this video thinking about the events from two decades and ago and my journey from the hospital a few weeks ago to the top of the bridge. 

Leave a comment

Share

0 Comments
God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Books
Authors
Tom Cosentino