God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
My Big Problem with Hinduism, But Why I Embrace Yoga, Its Mystical Tradition
0:00
-21:39

My Big Problem with Hinduism, But Why I Embrace Yoga, Its Mystical Tradition

India remains in the grip of a deeply primitive and damaging idea embedded in its religion.

My Indian Christian Dalit Twitter pal Prudy Ray has powerfully reminded me of an evil ideology Hinduism has built into the Indian people: CASTEISM. It plagues Hinduism like fundamentalism brings down Christianity, except maybe worse!

Still, I’ll give the Hindus their due: Yoga is the real deal and I’m embracing it to cope with my PTSD. As with the other world religions: get past the fundamentalism, dig into its mysticism, and you’ll find something beneficial.

Follow Prudy on Twitter and open your eyes to the plight of the Dalits of India, the “untouchables” who have been on the bottom of their society for centuries and still are today. We in the West need to advocate for them just as we do other oppressed groups from blacks to Jews to LGBTQ to the moderate Muslims oppressed by the Islamists - anyone around the world beaten down by cruel tribalist mentalities.

0 Comments
God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
Discussions about Culture, Faith, Friendship Across Borders, Fiction, Non-fiction, Art, Poetry, Essays, and More!