God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
How My Understanding of Islam Evolved From Horror to Respect
0:00
-30:17

How My Understanding of Islam Evolved From Horror to Respect

Muslim Mysticism Podcast #4: Over the Years As My Knowledge and Experience of Islam Increased so Too Did My Appreciations for It as a Legitimate Abrahamic Faith.

See the three previous installments in this series of podcasts on the themes of Islam and Muslim Mysticism in the broader context of the Abrahamic tradition. We still have a ways to go and much back story to get through before arriving at the hidden gems of this tradition.

Here I read a bit about the Persian multi-faith influences that would shape Hasan-i-Sabah and reflect how that theme has influenced my evolving views on Islam.

God of the Desert Books
'Hasan-i-Sabah': The Final Crown Gem of An Incredible Writing Career
Listen now (18 min) | James Wasserman was a writer, editor, and publisher with a focus on mysticism, esotericism, and the western occult tradition. I got to know him a bit in his final years after the publication of his autobiography In the Center of the Fire and my including it in a list of books for “counterculture conservatives” along with others by Wasserman. Visit Wasse…
Listen now
God of the Desert Books
Hasan-i-Sabah's Heresy, Kabbalah, and Parting with Friends 'For the Love of God'
Listen now (31 min) | Well sorry, everyone. I’ve felt so terrible the last few days I haven’t even been able to record my Friday Muslim mysticism and Saturday Jewish mysticism podcasts. So I’ll combine the readings from what I’d planned there for today’s. See Part 1 of the Friday Muslim mysticism podcasts…
Listen now
God of the Desert Books
The Challenge of Entering the Muslim Mystical Path
Listen now (15 min) | Here’s why this book of Muslim mystical thinking has been such a struggle to penetrate so far…
Listen now
0 Comments
God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
Discussions about Culture, Faith, Friendship Across Borders, Fiction, Non-fiction, Art, Poetry, Essays, and More!