Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

GOTD Video Podcast #4: How PTSD Makes a Misery of the Supermarket

10 Months Into the Illness and Basic Life Tasks Remain a Struggle

I swung by the grocery store yesterday and shot some video while driving there and back. I wasn’t satisfied with the audio quality of the trip there - I was experimenting with filming the desert scenery - but my reflections driving back afterward seemed to come out alright. So what was first planned and announced as episode 5 will actually be episode 4. And what I’d shot for episode 4 I’ll plan to reshoot next week now that I’ve figured out how to film it better.

In this episode I reflect on my frustrations that the symptoms of my PTSD make going out to crowded places that have lots of items and choices to make overwhelming for me. I usually prefer going to smaller markets to buy food but that isn’t always an option to buy everything we need. And I don’t want to keep simply avoiding “the real world” - I need to get back to being able to handle “normal” life again.

0 Comments
God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Books
Authors
David Swindle 🟦