God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
Deep Appreciations for the True Friends Who Reached Out to Comfort Me As the Suicidal Storm of PTSD Raged
1×
0:00
-18:54

Deep Appreciations for the True Friends Who Reached Out to Comfort Me As the Suicidal Storm of PTSD Raged

Several kind souls contacted me in response to my recent essay on what inspires one to end their life.

One of the most disturbing pieces I’ve ever published appeared on this Substack on January 19:

God of the Desert Books
Revealing Suicide's 'Mystery': When the Body Becomes an Unbearable Prison
One of the few political writers I still like, at one of the few political publications I still read with some respect, offered this recent writing inspired by the suicide of a colleague. Tim Miller of The Bulwark wrote: (Appreciations to Damian Penny…
Read more

This was an attempt to answer a recent post at the Bulwark trying to make sense of a man who had so much to live for choosing to die. I did my best to explain the understanding I’ve developed from struggling with the siren call for two decades.

And I got several deeply moving responses that meant so much to me and I want to thank those people for their great decency, kindness, and friendship.

0 Comments
God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
Discussions about Culture, Faith, Friendship Across Borders, Fiction, Non-fiction, Art, Poetry, Essays, and More!