God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
A Furious Rant: Krampus Should Drag this Planet's Godless, Patriarchal, Demonic Males to Hell Where They Belong
1×
0:00
-28:56

A Furious Rant: Krampus Should Drag this Planet's Godless, Patriarchal, Demonic Males to Hell Where They Belong

Sally's militant feminist fiancee takes a very different approach during the month honoring humanity's female population
Krampus - Wikipedia
Image Source: Wikimedia Commons

In her post on Women’s History Day

offered the metaphor of Santa Claus and a wish of gifts which she hoped to receive for the holiday:

God of the Desert Books
My Wishlist This International Women's Day
Dear Santa, Well, International Women's Day is upon us once again! I'm sure you and your elves have been busy, busy, busy crafting Birkin bags and diamond charm bracelets and leggings that don't give the wearer VPL, and all the other stuff that you men think will win our fair but fickle hearts…
Read more

I, however, choose to invoke a very different holiday creature for this occasion. Who is the fearsome beast above? That’s the Krampus, who the History Channel introduces as:

He’s the half-man, half-goat who comes around every year to chase naughty children and maybe even drag them to hell. European versions of St. Nicholas have long had scary counterparts like Belsnickle and Knecht Ruprecht who dole out punishment. Krampus is one such character who comes from folklore in Austria’s Alpine region, where he’s been frightening children and amusing adults for hundreds of years.

Yeah, that’s right - that’s how fucked up the Europeans can really be. Rather than just jolly old St. Nick who the worst he’ll do is leave coal in your stalking, the Austrians’ have this demonic creature who will kidnap bad children and whisk them off to hell.

Now I suppose it’s worth clarifying at this point from a theological perspective I do not believe in hell like more traditional, Evangelical, and orthodox-style Christians do. I reject the doctrine of eternal damnation - the idea that one who rejects accepting Christ as their savior will have to pay the price by being tortured in a lake of fire being raped by demons forever. Rather, I see hell as simply a metaphor for being in a state of separation from God - which we’re all technically in at all times - and thus I don’t regard hell as some fiery place in caves under the ground, I see it as all of the earth itself. When we accept that we’re already in hell then the world makes a lot more sense. This is a planet ruled by demonic forces and thus filled with unjustified suffering and endless cruelty.

But I’m getting a bit foo far afield, my point is, and what I intend to talk about in this podcast: I regard this month celebrating women’s history as very important because it is a reminder against the evils of our dominant patriarchal culture forged and maintained by abusive patriarchal males. Women of all professions and skills deserve more recognition so a month dedicated to highlighting them is just a bare minimum I see in the start to provoke education about them daily.

I remind everyone of my unusual variant of feminism, which has been deeply infused - some may even say warped - by my over-the-top hawkish and Zionist approaches:

God of the Desert Books
Crush Patriarchy: 6 Reasons Why I'm a Militant Feminist Today
The wonderful better half of our business parter, Mike Kilgore - the art director and Vice President here at God of the Desert Books - dropped a humorous meme today that I couldn’t help but relate to a bit too deeply, as I was contemplating how to write this post…
Read more

OK, now that the context has been set, let the furious rant begin.

0 Comments
God of the Desert Books
God of the Desert Podcast
Discussions about Culture, Faith, Friendship Across Borders, Fiction, Non-fiction, Art, Poetry, Essays, and More!